Posted by Sid Smith on May 18, 2017

As King Crimson prepares for the start of their US tour next month, June 16th sees the release of the 2017 edition of the popular Tour Box series. Consisting of 2 CDs of King Crimson history featuring every incarnation of the band from 1969 through to 2016, it comes with an extensive book containing archive photos and portraits of the band in action last year as well as an accompanying essay.

As with previous three releases in the series, the latest set present a mixture of extracts from rehearsals, new live recordings, elements from studio recordings, full tracks, alternate takes & finished recordings from 1969-2016, many of which make their first appearance on CD.

Of particular interest on the new set is the inclusion on disc 2, for the first time in KC history on a single disc, of every part of Larks’ Tongues in Aspic (some studio, some live) from Part I to Level 5 – interspersed with elements taken from the original studio sessions & rehearsals.

You can pre-order from Inner Knot (US) and Burning Shed (UK & Europe)

Tracklist details:

Disc 1
1 Wind (extract)  
2 * 21st Century Schizoid Man 
(Greg Lake vocals, extract) 
3 * 21st Century Schizoid Man 
(edit, live 2015)   
4  In The Wake Of Poseidon 
(instrumental edit)  
5 * Improv (Mel Collins, extract, live 2016) 
6 * Peace (2015, rehearsals extract) 
7 * Cirkus (live 2016) 
8 Islands (instrumental edit) 
9 Easy Money (live 2015) 
10 * Suitable Grounds For The Blues 
(2015, rehearsals extract) 
11 The Great Deceiver (live, 1974) 
12 * Improv (Mel Collins, extract, live 2016)
13  Asbury Park (edit)  
14 * One More Red Nightmare (live 2016) 
15 * Meltdown (2015, rehearsals extract) 
16 Thela Hun Ginjeet (Steven Wilson alt. mix) 
17 Heartbeat (live 1982)
18 * Sleepless (live 2008)
19 * RF intermission announcement (2016) 

Disc 2
1 Form No. 1 
2 THRAK   
3 Keep That One Nick (edit section)
4 Larks’ Tongues In Aspic Part I (live 2015)   
5 Larks’ Tongues In Aspic Part II (live 1974)     
6 Keep That One Nick (edit section)  
7 * Larks’ Tongues In Aspic Part III (live 1984) 
8 Keep That One Nick (edit section)  
9 * Larks’ IV ConstruKction   
10 Keep That One Nick (edit section)   
11 * Larks’ Tongues In Aspic Part IV (live 2003)  
12 * Level Five (live 2016)   
13 Larks' Tongues In Aspic (radio advert)    

*    previously unreleased on CD