Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
     SOUND  VISION WORD
   

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsPeaches, Ft. Laud., FL   May 19, 2011
Written by mrdickens

Robert Frippís name appeared on the marquee of this chain record store for about a week, and I was shocked.  I attended the concert on time and the store was already thoroughly packed.  So I had to stand in the back, and since it was a store floor after all, it was hard to see.  Also Mr. Fripp is relatively short in stature so that made it worse.

Mr. Fripp began with a surprisingly lengthy unamplified spoken preamble which was very difficult to make out, and audience members were shouting out from time to time with, "Microphone!  Canít hear you!" etc.  One thing I recall him saying which surprised me was a comment on digital sampling and saying how wonderful it was that now we could use practically any sound in any manner, and he gave the example of using a door slam as a drumbeat.  Disregarding the audienceís outbursts, Mr. Fripp spoke in a very quiet manner.  He also mentioned something about the performerís limited obligation to the audience, the "vampiric" relationship, and a prohibition on recording devices, since they diminish the possibilities of the performance.  With much urgency, someone finally appeared with a mic on a mic-stand and after weaving through the audience, placed it in front of Mr. Fripp.  Whereby, Mr. Fripp immediately concluded his monologue and began his guitar solo with Revox machine.

When that was done, Mr. Fripp stopped, rewound the tape, gave a brief description of the intention of the following overdubbed improvisation, and then proceeded with a rather scalding performance over top the previous foundation.

Quite soon after the performance I was obligated to leave for some reason that I donít recall.  I was quite overwhelmed by the performance.

In the photo, you can see a "corn plant" which is a popular ornamental plant, and also large paper which was hung for the performance, over the enormous plate glass windows of the store. The store has changed hands multiple times, but still stands at 1500 E Sunrise BLVD.

J


More Articles

Your search found 2414 items (Viewing 1 to 10 of 2414)


Fan Review
Stellar   Wed., Apr 27, 2016
Posted by: jmiKCred
One word: Excellent or Stellar if you want. I especially liked the acoustic portion of the show with Adrian. The band is on fire. A must Have.  Read more

Fan Review
Genius   Sat., Apr 23, 2016
Posted by: microbunny
The date on which each were recorded is rendered irrelevant because the underlying emotive impetus behind the separate recorded elements appears to be very similar. They might as well have been in the same room Read more

Fan Review
FreaKCin' Good!   Fri., Apr 22, 2016
Posted by: ilamfan
More totally great xenochrony!† Iíd love to have more "liner notes" on this track...fírinstance, were the separate†instruments from songs that we know? alternate takes? just jams?† Did the takes just happen to line up nicely as Read more

Fan Review
Brilliant!   Fri., Apr 22, 2016
Posted by: DocBobster
It totally works. Read more

Fan Review
Heavy Skirmish   Mon., Apr 18, 2016
Posted by: becarmi
One word: Amazing! Read more

Fan Review
Great Job Mr. Stormy   Mon., Apr 18, 2016
Posted by: DouglasBramley
Itís creative ideas like this that makes being a Crim fan so rewarding. A great piece of engineering, sir! Read more

Fan Review
A BEASTLY MASHUP   Mon., Apr 18, 2016
Posted by: mellowlandings
Proof that the more things change, the more they stay the same. Tippetís thrashings completely compliment RFís solo experimentation. The Rhythm Buddies are in their usual tight, fine form making for a fine track that causes one to think what Read more

Fan Review
When It's Good, It's Good!   Sat., Apr 16, 2016
Posted by: UnusualMuse
The hallmark of a great song is that you can simplify it, strip it, restyle it, and it remains a great song. This is especially remarkable here; built from so many complex, interlocking parts, you would expect that if one Read more

Fan Review
Mr Stormy   Mon., Apr 11, 2016
Posted by: toddalcott1
As someone whoís been following Mr. Fripp since 1979, Iíve collected a fair amount of albums. (315 by my iTunes count.) I just discovered Mr. Stormyís collections the other day, and they have, against all probability, shed new light on Read more

Fan Review
3 shows in 3 days   Fri., Apr 8, 2016
Posted by: Kimoco
Iíll never forget seeing this show in Rockford, Il, then in Chicago the day after, then Milwaukee the next day. I got his autograph on his Exposure album. (He made a cartoon bubble from his picture and wrote HI Read more

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 Next >> 

King Crimson Tour 2016
Newest Additions
HEAVY SKIRMISH
FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD


King Crimson
18 April 2016

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

 
Latest Music
King Crimson in Toronto 11/20/2015
King Crimson in Toronto 11/20/2015

 
Latest Photo

 
New to the DGM Shop
In The Court Of The Crimson King - 40th Anniversary Series
In The Court Of The Crimson King - 40th Anniversary Series

 
Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Nov. 20th, 2015 in Toronto

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

 
Follow Us
 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds