Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
     SOUND  VISION WORD
   

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsPeaches, Ft. Laud., FL   May 19, 2011
Written by mrdickens

Robert Frippís name appeared on the marquee of this chain record store for about a week, and I was shocked.  I attended the concert on time and the store was already thoroughly packed.  So I had to stand in the back, and since it was a store floor after all, it was hard to see.  Also Mr. Fripp is relatively short in stature so that made it worse.

Mr. Fripp began with a surprisingly lengthy unamplified spoken preamble which was very difficult to make out, and audience members were shouting out from time to time with, "Microphone!  Canít hear you!" etc.  One thing I recall him saying which surprised me was a comment on digital sampling and saying how wonderful it was that now we could use practically any sound in any manner, and he gave the example of using a door slam as a drumbeat.  Disregarding the audienceís outbursts, Mr. Fripp spoke in a very quiet manner.  He also mentioned something about the performerís limited obligation to the audience, the "vampiric" relationship, and a prohibition on recording devices, since they diminish the possibilities of the performance.  With much urgency, someone finally appeared with a mic on a mic-stand and after weaving through the audience, placed it in front of Mr. Fripp.  Whereby, Mr. Fripp immediately concluded his monologue and began his guitar solo with Revox machine.

When that was done, Mr. Fripp stopped, rewound the tape, gave a brief description of the intention of the following overdubbed improvisation, and then proceeded with a rather scalding performance over top the previous foundation.

Quite soon after the performance I was obligated to leave for some reason that I donít recall.  I was quite overwhelmed by the performance.

In the photo, you can see a "corn plant" which is a popular ornamental plant, and also large paper which was hung for the performance, over the enormous plate glass windows of the store. The store has changed hands multiple times, but still stands at 1500 E Sunrise BLVD.

J


More Articles

Your search found 2177 items (Viewing 1 to 10 of 2177)


Fan Review
Zoom   Sat., Oct 18, 2014
Posted by: JordanClifford
Iím so curious about the track known as "Zoom." One could assume titled after the venue, but does not have the "Improv:" prefix, yet offers no other information, and is partly improv and partly Read more

Fan Review
Creative Peak   Wed., Oct 15, 2014
Posted by: fhc339835
Hot rotation since I received it as KCCC release nearly 10 years ago. I was surprised to learn recently that the club was so small, and only a few dozen punters to experience what was to Read more

Fan Review
2 nights at the EGG   Wed., Oct 15, 2014
Posted by: capttrips
The Egg has great sound and with an incredible band it was awesome. The audio mix was better the second night. Go Mel btw: found both shows on a site un-named <good quality Read more

Fan Review
Best Concert of my Life   Mon., Oct 13, 2014
Posted by: sweeneytodd8532
I went to this night and the next night and both times were incredible, but if I had to choose between the two: this one takes the cake. Absolutely incredible, I canít wait for the downloads of the tour to Read more

Fan Review
Mindbending   Mon., Oct 13, 2014
Posted by: jackoledge
Gravityhill is correct.  I was also at this show.  My friends and I went to the Convention Center and some of the promoterís reps were at the door and told that "the show isnít here; we didnít sell enough Read more

Fan Review
Toronto fan attended Albany gig   Wed., Oct 8, 2014
Posted by: vinnydbass
Awesome show! The 7 hour drive was well worth it. If there are no Canadian gigs, then the Canadian must go to Crim! Read more

Fan Review
Ineffable   Tue., Oct 7, 2014
Posted by: donhenson
I was there. Thank you!! Read more

Fan Review
To Be Forever Remembered   Tue., Sep 30, 2014
Posted by: thestaz
When I heard King Crimson was back, I knew that I would move heaven and earth to see them again. My hopes were almost dashed when the tour dates were revealed and there were no shows in or near Read more

Fan Review
Why no Canadian gigs!!   Mon., Sep 29, 2014
Posted by: iletecosmicapres
Iím pretty aware that this will not be posted but so be it..After years and from many avid fans here in Toronto why would King Crimson not play Toronto but see fit to play Albany Read more

Fan Review
My life is complete.    Sat., Sep 27, 2014
Posted by: rburgoon
Wow! I purchased the tickets for this show having no expectations on what the show would be like. I just knew that I had to see them before I leave this Read more

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 Next >> 

King Crimson US Tour 2014
Newest Additions
NO CAMERAS PLEASE
FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD


King Crimson
No Cameras Please

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

 
Latest Music
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999

 
Latest Photo

 
New to the DGM Shop
Magnets - Collectors' Series Vol 1
Magnets - Collectors' Series Vol 1

 
Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

Fripp & Eno - Mar. 14th, 2006 in London

 
Follow Us
 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds