Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
     SOUND  VISION WORD
   

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsPeaches, Ft. Laud., FL   May 19, 2011
Written by mrdickens

Robert Frippís name appeared on the marquee of this chain record store for about a week, and I was shocked.  I attended the concert on time and the store was already thoroughly packed.  So I had to stand in the back, and since it was a store floor after all, it was hard to see.  Also Mr. Fripp is relatively short in stature so that made it worse.

Mr. Fripp began with a surprisingly lengthy unamplified spoken preamble which was very difficult to make out, and audience members were shouting out from time to time with, "Microphone!  Canít hear you!" etc.  One thing I recall him saying which surprised me was a comment on digital sampling and saying how wonderful it was that now we could use practically any sound in any manner, and he gave the example of using a door slam as a drumbeat.  Disregarding the audienceís outbursts, Mr. Fripp spoke in a very quiet manner.  He also mentioned something about the performerís limited obligation to the audience, the "vampiric" relationship, and a prohibition on recording devices, since they diminish the possibilities of the performance.  With much urgency, someone finally appeared with a mic on a mic-stand and after weaving through the audience, placed it in front of Mr. Fripp.  Whereby, Mr. Fripp immediately concluded his monologue and began his guitar solo with Revox machine.

When that was done, Mr. Fripp stopped, rewound the tape, gave a brief description of the intention of the following overdubbed improvisation, and then proceeded with a rather scalding performance over top the previous foundation.

Quite soon after the performance I was obligated to leave for some reason that I donít recall.  I was quite overwhelmed by the performance.

In the photo, you can see a "corn plant" which is a popular ornamental plant, and also large paper which was hung for the performance, over the enormous plate glass windows of the store. The store has changed hands multiple times, but still stands at 1500 E Sunrise BLVD.

J


More Articles

Your search found 2420 items (Viewing 1 to 10 of 2420)


Fan Review
It's gold!   Sun., May 8, 2016
Posted by: Spradlinn
Iíve been living with the Live in Toronto disc in my car for the past two weeks, and since my commute each way is at least 45 minutes, Iím very familiar with it Read more

Fan Review
why not an entire remix album like this????   Wed., May 4, 2016
Posted by: heavenly
hey, since sometimes mr. stormy listens... this is getting better with each listen!!!! why not an entire official album of remixes of the 80s catalogue?  (plus a remix of  "dangerous Read more

Fan Review
Refreshing   Tue., May 3, 2016
Posted by: midiexperiment
I was struck by the refreshing polarity this take of Neurotica has when compared to the other takes I have heard. Splendid. I would say, not so much a re-discovered brownie, as a re-invented Read more

Fan Review
remix in title   Tue., May 3, 2016
Posted by: jeremykeens
This is a lovely track, very nicely done. My only suggestion would be that it be identified as Neurotica Stormy Remix or some such, as rather than being a track from the vault like many others it is something which Read more

Fan Review
Recreation of Brilliance   Mon., May 2, 2016
Posted by: freshlet
Like Heavenlyís superb review, I agree with him 100% about how Crim can be redesigned, recreated, renewed, and brought forth into new and fascinating Read more

Fan Review
incredible   Mon., May 2, 2016
Posted by: heavenly
love it!!!!this sounds so fresh - it could have been conceived just yesterday. i also love the electronica approach, sth. i also liked in projeKCts III and Read more

Fan Review
Stellar   Wed., Apr 27, 2016
Posted by: jmiKCred
One word: Excellent or Stellar if you want. I especially liked the acoustic portion of the show with Adrian. The band is on fire. A must Have.  Read more

Fan Review
Genius   Sat., Apr 23, 2016
Posted by: microbunny
The date on which each were recorded is rendered irrelevant because the underlying emotive impetus behind the separate recorded elements appears to be very similar. They might as well have been in the same room Read more

Fan Review
FreaKCin' Good!   Fri., Apr 22, 2016
Posted by: ilamfan
More totally great xenochrony!† Iíd love to have more "liner notes" on this track...fírinstance, were the separate†instruments from songs that we know? alternate takes? just jams?† Did the takes just happen to line up nicely as Read more

Fan Review
Brilliant!   Fri., Apr 22, 2016
Posted by: DocBobster
It totally works. Read more

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 Next >> 

King Crimson Tour 2016
Newest Additions
NEUROTICA
FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD


King Crimson
18 March 1982

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

 
Latest Music
King Crimson in Toronto 11/20/2015
King Crimson in Toronto 11/20/2015

 
Latest Photo

 
New to the DGM Shop
King Crimson - Zipper Hoodie
King Crimson - Zipper Hoodie

 
Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Nov. 20th, 2015 in Toronto

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

 
Follow Us
 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds