Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
     SOUND  VISION WORD
   

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsPeaches, Ft. Laud., FL   May 19, 2011
Written by mrdickens

Robert Frippís name appeared on the marquee of this chain record store for about a week, and I was shocked.  I attended the concert on time and the store was already thoroughly packed.  So I had to stand in the back, and since it was a store floor after all, it was hard to see.  Also Mr. Fripp is relatively short in stature so that made it worse.

Mr. Fripp began with a surprisingly lengthy unamplified spoken preamble which was very difficult to make out, and audience members were shouting out from time to time with, "Microphone!  Canít hear you!" etc.  One thing I recall him saying which surprised me was a comment on digital sampling and saying how wonderful it was that now we could use practically any sound in any manner, and he gave the example of using a door slam as a drumbeat.  Disregarding the audienceís outbursts, Mr. Fripp spoke in a very quiet manner.  He also mentioned something about the performerís limited obligation to the audience, the "vampiric" relationship, and a prohibition on recording devices, since they diminish the possibilities of the performance.  With much urgency, someone finally appeared with a mic on a mic-stand and after weaving through the audience, placed it in front of Mr. Fripp.  Whereby, Mr. Fripp immediately concluded his monologue and began his guitar solo with Revox machine.

When that was done, Mr. Fripp stopped, rewound the tape, gave a brief description of the intention of the following overdubbed improvisation, and then proceeded with a rather scalding performance over top the previous foundation.

Quite soon after the performance I was obligated to leave for some reason that I donít recall.  I was quite overwhelmed by the performance.

In the photo, you can see a "corn plant" which is a popular ornamental plant, and also large paper which was hung for the performance, over the enormous plate glass windows of the store. The store has changed hands multiple times, but still stands at 1500 E Sunrise BLVD.

J


More Articles

Your search found 2287 items (Viewing 1 to 10 of 2287)


Fan Review
Fascinating   Tue., Apr 28, 2015
Posted by: BluesLibrarian
Thank you for making this concert available, the music is thoughtful and inspiring. Read more

Fan Review
Awesome!   Mon., Apr 27, 2015
Posted by: microbunny
This is a truly great one. Fantastic performance and completely synchronized to the backing loops from an audience bootleg with what may be the first to be synched with the Original Loop Read more

Fan Review
Lovely-what guitar?   Wed., Apr 22, 2015
Posted by: MarkSullivan
It is a lovely piece, and the guitar sound is beautiful. What guitar was Robert playing? Read more

Fan Review
A treasure   Tue., Apr 21, 2015
Posted by: orrason
beautiful playing - a treasure to have Read more

Fan Review
A very well played show   Fri., Apr 17, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
The band always seems to play extremely well in Canada and this show is no exception. Granted, there are a couple of missteps in Level 5 but I like that the set list has been shuffled around a little Read more

Fan Review
Man, the band plays good in Canada   Fri., Apr 17, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
For me personally, I find both this night and the next to be among the highlights of the tour. This show starts with a rousing Larksí IV and doesnít let Read more

Fan Review
Great show - but it's actually Guildford   Wed., Apr 15, 2015
Posted by: WhiskeyVengeance
Owners of CLUB 24 (or the Larks Tongues Complete Recordings boxset) will likely recognize the first half of this show as it is the same date previously released as Guildford Read more

Fan Review
Yeah, the sound is pretty awful....   Mon., Apr 13, 2015
Posted by: jeffo621
... but if youíre thinking about it, youíll probably want to get it anyway. There is something very appealling about the Muir-era shows, perhaps because it was such a short-lived period, and certainly because of the huge amounts Read more

Fan Review
Indoor skeleton   Mon., Apr 13, 2015
Posted by: Hubert
Any insight in the masterwork that befuddles the master is welcome. So thatís how they did it - a skeletal recording to which were added various bits and Read more

Fan Review
A fantastic show!   Thu., Apr 9, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
By this time, the band has a number of shows under itís belt and the wheels are turning smoothly. The show opens up up with a cool Discipline and then goes on to play really good versions of the standard Read more

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 Next >> 

King Crimson US Tour 2014
Newest Additions
PEACE A THEME
FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD


King Crimson
25 February 1970

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

 
Latest Music
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999

 
Latest Photo

 
New to the DGM Shop
In The Court Of The Crimson King (Vintage Distressed)
In The Court Of The Crimson King (Vintage Distressed)

 
Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

Fripp & Eno - Mar. 14th, 2006 in London

 
Follow Us
 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds