Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
     SOUND  VISION WORD
   

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsPeaches, Ft. Laud., FL   May 19, 2011
Written by mrdickens

Robert Frippís name appeared on the marquee of this chain record store for about a week, and I was shocked.  I attended the concert on time and the store was already thoroughly packed.  So I had to stand in the back, and since it was a store floor after all, it was hard to see.  Also Mr. Fripp is relatively short in stature so that made it worse.

Mr. Fripp began with a surprisingly lengthy unamplified spoken preamble which was very difficult to make out, and audience members were shouting out from time to time with, "Microphone!  Canít hear you!" etc.  One thing I recall him saying which surprised me was a comment on digital sampling and saying how wonderful it was that now we could use practically any sound in any manner, and he gave the example of using a door slam as a drumbeat.  Disregarding the audienceís outbursts, Mr. Fripp spoke in a very quiet manner.  He also mentioned something about the performerís limited obligation to the audience, the "vampiric" relationship, and a prohibition on recording devices, since they diminish the possibilities of the performance.  With much urgency, someone finally appeared with a mic on a mic-stand and after weaving through the audience, placed it in front of Mr. Fripp.  Whereby, Mr. Fripp immediately concluded his monologue and began his guitar solo with Revox machine.

When that was done, Mr. Fripp stopped, rewound the tape, gave a brief description of the intention of the following overdubbed improvisation, and then proceeded with a rather scalding performance over top the previous foundation.

Quite soon after the performance I was obligated to leave for some reason that I donít recall.  I was quite overwhelmed by the performance.

In the photo, you can see a "corn plant" which is a popular ornamental plant, and also large paper which was hung for the performance, over the enormous plate glass windows of the store. The store has changed hands multiple times, but still stands at 1500 E Sunrise BLVD.

J


More Articles

Your search found 2227 items (Viewing 1 to 10 of 2227)


Fan Review
Another Standout Show with Solos   Wed., Jan 28, 2015
Posted by: TheloniousCube
Definitely one of the best of the Frippertronics downloads - this features some wonderful soloing by Mr. Fripp throughout. To echo another reviewer, both the May 1979 tour to which this belongs and the July/August 1981 Read more

Fan Review
Close Encounters with Mr. Fripp   Wed., Jan 28, 2015
Posted by: TheloniousCube
There are two pieces work remarking on here: Music For Bo is quite sublime - serene, yet perhaps a bit sad, it reminds me of some of the later Read more

Fan Review
Thanks!   Wed., Jan 28, 2015
Posted by: WhiskeyVengeance
Thanks so much for making this available, guys! Great to hear the unedited version after all these years. And youíre welcome for the help on the show notes, Read more

Fan Review
A very interesting set   Wed., Jan 28, 2015
Posted by: TheloniousCube
This is a "loop only" set, so, alas, no solos However, Loop I has a very uncommon rhythmic aspect one rarely hears in these performances and itís quite Read more

Fan Review
Another Outstanding Performance   Wed., Jan 28, 2015
Posted by: TheloniousCube
As a fan of Frippertronics who especially enjoys the versions with solos, this show stands out as a very strong example of the guitaristís most graceful and inspired soloing. Read more

Fan Review
The Cream of Frippertronics?   Wed., Jan 28, 2015
Posted by: TheloniousCube
This show is great - Loop I and Solo is an amazing piece of guitar work - just stunning. Worth the price of admission right there. More importantly, this run of 12 shows is the best Read more

Fan Review
Overall okay, but Loop II And Solo - wow!   Wed., Jan 28, 2015
Posted by: TheloniousCube
In general, I prefer the later 1981 shows to this short February run, but "Loop II And Solo" from this show is fantastic - in itís way a perfect example of Frippertronics at its Read more

Fan Review
Cheap at twice the price   Wed., Jan 28, 2015
Posted by: TheloniousCube
These two pieces are two of my favorite pieces out of all the Frippertronics downloads and the fact that theyíre available at a bargain price is even better. Seriously the best place to start if youíre curious Read more

Fan Review
Lovely, floating sound   Wed., Jan 28, 2015
Posted by: TheloniousCube
These two Restaurant shows are, to me, very different from the other Frippertronics shows (many of which I also love). These are closer in feel to Enoís early ambient works than to the Fripp/Eno collaborations or the extended ífrozen Read more

Fan Review
Simply beautiful   Wed., Jan 28, 2015
Posted by: TheloniousCube
In general, I prefer Frippertronics with the solos added back in, but these Restaurant shows are a major exception. Given the extreme length of the pieces one assumes that the performer never intended to go back and Read more

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 Next >> 

King Crimson US Tour 2014
Newest Additions
THE NIGHT WATCH
FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD


King Crimson
Oct. 23rd, 1973

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

 
Latest Music
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999

 
Latest Photo

 
New to the DGM Shop
Ladies Of The Road
Ladies Of The Road

 
Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

Fripp & Eno - Mar. 14th, 2006 in London

 
Follow Us
 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds