Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
     SOUND  VISION WORD
   

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsPeaches, Ft. Laud., FL   May 19, 2011
Written by mrdickens

Robert Frippís name appeared on the marquee of this chain record store for about a week, and I was shocked.  I attended the concert on time and the store was already thoroughly packed.  So I had to stand in the back, and since it was a store floor after all, it was hard to see.  Also Mr. Fripp is relatively short in stature so that made it worse.

Mr. Fripp began with a surprisingly lengthy unamplified spoken preamble which was very difficult to make out, and audience members were shouting out from time to time with, "Microphone!  Canít hear you!" etc.  One thing I recall him saying which surprised me was a comment on digital sampling and saying how wonderful it was that now we could use practically any sound in any manner, and he gave the example of using a door slam as a drumbeat.  Disregarding the audienceís outbursts, Mr. Fripp spoke in a very quiet manner.  He also mentioned something about the performerís limited obligation to the audience, the "vampiric" relationship, and a prohibition on recording devices, since they diminish the possibilities of the performance.  With much urgency, someone finally appeared with a mic on a mic-stand and after weaving through the audience, placed it in front of Mr. Fripp.  Whereby, Mr. Fripp immediately concluded his monologue and began his guitar solo with Revox machine.

When that was done, Mr. Fripp stopped, rewound the tape, gave a brief description of the intention of the following overdubbed improvisation, and then proceeded with a rather scalding performance over top the previous foundation.

Quite soon after the performance I was obligated to leave for some reason that I donít recall.  I was quite overwhelmed by the performance.

In the photo, you can see a "corn plant" which is a popular ornamental plant, and also large paper which was hung for the performance, over the enormous plate glass windows of the store. The store has changed hands multiple times, but still stands at 1500 E Sunrise BLVD.

J


More Articles

Your search found 2194 items (Viewing 1 to 10 of 2194)


Fan Review
Worthy of Official Release    Tue., Dec 16, 2014
Posted by: GrassySound
Both Robert & Adrian expressed interest in officially releasing this concert.  Why?  In my view, itís because the performance is exceptional.  It flows perfectly.  Thereís nothing more I need to add, other than itís a Read more

Fan Review
BB drumming   Sat., Dec 13, 2014
Posted by: fhc339835
The most unsettling disturbing drumming from BB recognized so far - a drummerís pleasure, but yet a little bit hard for the bandmates to accompany. Read more

Fan Review
Love and Peace   Thu., Dec 11, 2014
Posted by: kingcrimson7
Robert, excellent music,. Happy Holidays, Jesus is the light. Read more

Fan Review
This is where it began for me   Sun., Dec 7, 2014
Posted by: ShikiBoy
It was on this show that I first became aware of a band named King Crimson. They changed my life forever from the minute I saw them. So moved was I that I got up from my seat and yelled Read more

Fan Review
Fantastic   Thu., Dec 4, 2014
Posted by: GratefulJerry
Iím mostly an "old school" type and prefer cds to downloads. However, with the Collectorís Club now being done, Iíve started investing in downloads. I have the next night as a CC release so I went ahead and bought the Read more

Fan Review
August 1, 1981 - New York   Thu., Dec 4, 2014
Posted by: markfjohnson
A beautiful offering of Robert Frippís Frippertronics. These 3 loops are beautiful miniatures, each only a few minutes long, and yet time seems to stop while the sounds wash over the Read more

Fan Review
Crimson in Hot ĎLanta!   Wed., Dec 3, 2014
Posted by: dhughes53
This was an amazing night, one Iíll always remember. When I arrived, the line was out the door, down the steps and down Peachtree Street, then around the corner halfway down that Read more

Fan Review
question   Mon., Dec 1, 2014
Posted by: jchahn
Is this recording from the 8pm show or the 11pm show? Afraid we don't have that information. Sid Read more

Fan Review
Best show in 25 years   Thu., Nov 27, 2014
Posted by: dwightboone
This is was by  far and away the best I have seen in 25 years. When I first walked into the theater, at The Egg September 9th 2014, I had some trepidation seeing three drum kits Read more

Fan Review
Worth it for    Tue., Nov 25, 2014
Posted by: nkLottery
So that Untitled Instrumental on this show...the one that may have been dubbed "Absent Lovers" at some point. I just discovered this gig and just heard that track for the first Read more

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 Next >> 

King Crimson US Tour 2014
Newest Additions
FRAME BY FRAME
FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD


King Crimson
22 May 1981

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

 
Latest Music
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999

 
Latest Photo

 
New to the DGM Shop
Discipline (Black)
Discipline (Black)

 
Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

Fripp & Eno - Mar. 14th, 2006 in London

 
Follow Us
 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds