Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
     SOUND  VISION WORD
   

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsPeaches, Ft. Laud., FL   May 19, 2011
Written by mrdickens

Robert Fripp’s name appeared on the marquee of this chain record store for about a week, and I was shocked.  I attended the concert on time and the store was already thoroughly packed.  So I had to stand in the back, and since it was a store floor after all, it was hard to see.  Also Mr. Fripp is relatively short in stature so that made it worse.

Mr. Fripp began with a surprisingly lengthy unamplified spoken preamble which was very difficult to make out, and audience members were shouting out from time to time with, "Microphone!  Can’t hear you!" etc.  One thing I recall him saying which surprised me was a comment on digital sampling and saying how wonderful it was that now we could use practically any sound in any manner, and he gave the example of using a door slam as a drumbeat.  Disregarding the audience’s outbursts, Mr. Fripp spoke in a very quiet manner.  He also mentioned something about the performer’s limited obligation to the audience, the "vampiric" relationship, and a prohibition on recording devices, since they diminish the possibilities of the performance.  With much urgency, someone finally appeared with a mic on a mic-stand and after weaving through the audience, placed it in front of Mr. Fripp.  Whereby, Mr. Fripp immediately concluded his monologue and began his guitar solo with Revox machine.

When that was done, Mr. Fripp stopped, rewound the tape, gave a brief description of the intention of the following overdubbed improvisation, and then proceeded with a rather scalding performance over top the previous foundation.

Quite soon after the performance I was obligated to leave for some reason that I don’t recall.  I was quite overwhelmed by the performance.

In the photo, you can see a "corn plant" which is a popular ornamental plant, and also large paper which was hung for the performance, over the enormous plate glass windows of the store. The store has changed hands multiple times, but still stands at 1500 E Sunrise BLVD.

J


More Articles

Your search found 2144 items (Viewing 1 to 10 of 2144)


Fan Review
Allright   Fri., Aug 29, 2014
Posted by: Bakullama
I liked this allright. Hope to hear more at the final Seattles show in October. Cant make an honest review from this short clip. But I wonder if Ades guitar playing has influenced and bent Roberts sound a Read more

Fan Review
Double-Treat at the MSG Felt Forum!   Fri., Aug 29, 2014
Posted by: mannylunch
Another of the many shows posted from the last 40+ years at which I was in attendance - and the first time I saw Starless live! (My second time, and last for a KC performance, would be exactly two months Read more

Fan Review
Hope this is released soon after the show, as I will be in attendance!   Thu., Aug 21, 2014
Posted by: moonchild
Looking forward to whatever the band choses to play. Improvisation is welcome, new songs also. Will not be bringing a cellphone or a camera, just my “Fripp” hat and a “Fripp says: move on” Read more

Fan Review
croydon comment....short but sweet as it is....   Wed., Aug 20, 2014
Posted by: crimson_king22
Now Robert, you know me.......maybe.......ok, only "perhaps"..........     As you know, the KCrimson concerts from 1971 to early 1972 in anything RESEMBLING what one might call "representative" of the dodgy (meaning sometimes excellent, Read more

Fan Review
The Sheltering Sky and more..   Thu., Aug 14, 2014
Posted by: pinkmilk
... they had great time this time : Sheterimg Sky and a (very special) Inscipline and Schizoidare are Just three of the highlight . Great Show !! Read more

Fan Review
Missing stuff   Mon., Aug 11, 2014
Posted by: twatts1000
This set is missing the Adrian solo stuff between Sus_Tayn_Z and The Deception of the Thrush: Young Lions, Men in Helicopters, Three of a Perfect Pair Read more

Fan Review
Mr. Oxygen Posts   Mon., Aug 11, 2014
Posted by: andyayer
Vibrant display of talent. If others don’t get the innovative hard rock jazz fusion they should just fade away...What does one say, "heard it Read more

Fan Review
this sounds great   Sun., Aug 10, 2014
Posted by: ShaneW95
Cannot wait for the Chicago show! Read more

Fan Review
Ghoast part III(part 2)   Fri., Aug 1, 2014
Posted by: Maximus
I did not copy the whole text from the text editor, so here’s the rest: (...)Solo from Tony( Read more

Fan Review
excited   Mon., Jul 28, 2014
Posted by: leedoug
excited, see you in Philly. Anything from the same space (KC) is where i want to hear from. no matter the title. looks to be a formidable line-up...again :) Read more

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 Next >> 

King Crimson US Tour 2014
Newest Additions
VENTURING UNTO JOY PT I
FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD


King Crimson
13 June 2014

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

 
Latest Music
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999

 
Latest Photo

 
New to the DGM Shop
In The Court Of The Crimson King - 40th Anniversary Series
In The Court Of The Crimson King - 40th Anniversary Series

 
Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

Fripp & Eno - Mar. 14th, 2006 in London
 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds