Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
     SOUND  VISION WORD
   

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsPeaches, Ft. Laud., FL   May 19, 2011
Written by mrdickens

Robert Frippís name appeared on the marquee of this chain record store for about a week, and I was shocked.  I attended the concert on time and the store was already thoroughly packed.  So I had to stand in the back, and since it was a store floor after all, it was hard to see.  Also Mr. Fripp is relatively short in stature so that made it worse.

Mr. Fripp began with a surprisingly lengthy unamplified spoken preamble which was very difficult to make out, and audience members were shouting out from time to time with, "Microphone!  Canít hear you!" etc.  One thing I recall him saying which surprised me was a comment on digital sampling and saying how wonderful it was that now we could use practically any sound in any manner, and he gave the example of using a door slam as a drumbeat.  Disregarding the audienceís outbursts, Mr. Fripp spoke in a very quiet manner.  He also mentioned something about the performerís limited obligation to the audience, the "vampiric" relationship, and a prohibition on recording devices, since they diminish the possibilities of the performance.  With much urgency, someone finally appeared with a mic on a mic-stand and after weaving through the audience, placed it in front of Mr. Fripp.  Whereby, Mr. Fripp immediately concluded his monologue and began his guitar solo with Revox machine.

When that was done, Mr. Fripp stopped, rewound the tape, gave a brief description of the intention of the following overdubbed improvisation, and then proceeded with a rather scalding performance over top the previous foundation.

Quite soon after the performance I was obligated to leave for some reason that I donít recall.  I was quite overwhelmed by the performance.

In the photo, you can see a "corn plant" which is a popular ornamental plant, and also large paper which was hung for the performance, over the enormous plate glass windows of the store. The store has changed hands multiple times, but still stands at 1500 E Sunrise BLVD.

J


More Articles

Your search found 2249 items (Viewing 1 to 10 of 2249)


Fan Review
hey!......that's MY pic!    Thu., Feb 26, 2015
Posted by: crimson_king22
Dear DGM, Good job on the re-mastering/enhancements on this show.... I have owned this show since 1997, on cassette, and the sound quality has always been horrid, but this is Read more

Fan Review
Walking On Air   Thu., Feb 26, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
Another phenomenal show from the 1995 Fall Tour. This is the bandís 19th show on the tour (not counting the bandís appearance on Conan) and the band shakes up the set list a bit Read more

Fan Review
From the Humble Pie archive   Wed., Feb 25, 2015
Posted by: EarlyFan
12/11/1971 Philadelphia, PA, Spectrum J. Geils Band, King Crimson Read more

Fan Review
Wilmington Armory   Wed., Feb 25, 2015
Posted by: EarlyFan
Yes, there were two shows at the Wilmington Armory, which was located across the street from Union Park Pontiac. King Crimson opened for J. Geils Band. A few night before this concert they were part of a triple bill with Read more

Fan Review
A very good show for the most part   Wed., Feb 25, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
This was the bandís 13th show on their Fall American tour supporting THRAK. On this recording, the guitars have a slightly grittier sound that usual which works well on the more rocking songs like Red and VROOOM Read more

Fan Review
Bliss   Sun., Feb 22, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
This may be my favorite of the 3 shows that are currently up here from the tour with Tool. The sound is dialed in from the get go while the bandís playing is large and in Read more

Fan Review
   Santa Rosa, CA   March 27, 2003
Posted by: GratefulJerry
The Luther Burbank Center for the Performing Arts (currently now known as the Wells Fargo Center for the Performing Arts) is a wonderful place to see a show. I miss living in Santa Rosa but the wifeís relatives live in Read more

Fan Review
Tours should start like this   Wed., Feb 18, 2015
Posted by: fhc339835
Bonsoir, nous sommes la ligue de gentlemen, nous sommes un groupe pour la danse. Voulez-vous danser! Robertís slightly inconfident announcement opens a tremendously exciting and rocking gig, with an audience going Read more

Fan Review
UK LoG bundle   Wed., Feb 18, 2015
Posted by: fhc339835
I slightly disagree with Sidís judgement on the gig. I believe the last of the five in Leeds is the strongest. Outstanding as ever is Dislocated, but all the other stuff is groovy and Read more

Fan Review
The most consistant show out of the run.   Sun., Feb 15, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
The fourth and final show of the bandís opening 2001 run. All four shows are available in a bundle, at a discount so I went for it. This being the fourth show, it also is more consistent than some of Read more

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 Next >> 

King Crimson US Tour 2014
Newest Additions
Keneally - FREE DOWNLOAD

KENEALLY
FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD


Robert Fripp
Oct. 11th, 1997
Mud Island Ampitheatre

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

 
Latest Music
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999

 
Latest Photo

 
New to the DGM Shop
London - Reboot
London - Reboot

 
Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

Fripp & Eno - Mar. 14th, 2006 in London

 
Follow Us
 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds