Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Robert Fripp Login | Register | Help

Previous Item   16 December 1977  Next Item SOUND  VISION WORD
CD Cover Photo

If youíve ever wondered what it would be like to be a fly on the wall at a rehearsal of some of your favourite musicians then wonder no more. The discovery of a set of cassette recordings in the DGM vaults dating from December 1977 provide us with the very best aural snapshot yet of how Robert Fripp started mapping out his Exposure album.

Heard in the excellent company of drummer Michael Walden (Mahavishnu Orchestra) and ex-Crimson bandmate, John Wetton, Fripp rummages through ideas for introductions, bridges, choruses, and attitude that would make for some of the most memorable points of his debut solo record.

In addition to providing several passes of the same tracks with the players responding and shaping their approaches in mid-flight, we get to hear the trio rocking out on more than one lengthy improvisation.

Taken together they represent a tour de force that takes the listener on a riotous journey into some turbulent areas that include flat-out rock, explosive jazz and funk-orientated blows, and of course, some of that high-speed chordal soloing that Fripp first served up on The Sailorís Tale.

There are so many miraculous moments tucked away in these tracks including a run or two that would find a home in pieces by League of Gentlemen, as well as the crackling energy the trio generates as they shift gears or lock into a productive groove.

Above all, youíll hear three musicians enjoying the moment, following an idea and seeing what might happen with ferocious contributions thatíll drop your jaw and put your bonce hairs on Red alert.

Although the audio comes from a cassette running mix, itís certainly good enough for the attentive listener to be treated to a spectacular display of musical fireworks that will both surprise and delight.


Disc Number 1
1.  Breathless I  [PREVIEW]  3.14
2.  Breathless II  [PREVIEW]  9.08
3.  Breathless III  [PREVIEW]  7.43
4.  Ballad  [PREVIEW]  1.15
5.  Hitting The Groove Factor  [PREVIEW]  11.34
6.  Toy Fact Hither  [PREVIEW]  6.03
7.  353 West 48th Street  [PREVIEW]  9.17
8.  Breathless IV  [PREVIEW]  4.57
9.  Breathless Solo  [PREVIEW]  1.16
10.  I May Not Have Had Enough Of Me But I've Had Enough Of You I  [PREVIEW]  1.26
11.  I May Not Have Had Enough Of Me But I've Had Enough Of You II  [PREVIEW]  3.37
12.  Fat Itch Theory  [PREVIEW]  2.01
13.  Cry To The Faith  [PREVIEW]  5.49
14.  NYC I  [PREVIEW]  2.53
15.  NYC II  [PREVIEW]  2.06
16.  NYC III  [PREVIEW]  3.25

All previews are MP3 192kbps

Robert Fripp - Guitar
John Wetton - Bass
Narada Michael Walden - Drums


Audio Source: Rehearsal Cassette

DGM Audio Quality Rating:  out of 5 stars4 out of 5 stars4 out of 5 stars4 out of 5 stars4 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars

Average Customer Rating:
 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 stars

Purchase Show
Download FLAC $12.95 (What is FLAC?)
Download MP3 $9.95



Submit a Review

Fan Reviews

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsCreation-ISM, Fri., Sep 13, 2013
Written by Bill_Lantz
I often revisit these rehearsals and run throughs. For anyone thatís ever wanted to be the proverbial fly on the wall while essential music is being created, this is it. It does not get much better. Narada Michael Walden was and still is a force. RF and JW are at the ready as this new music flies around them, ready to explore and shape.

Thanks to the entire DGM team.



Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds